SP 5 - ControlSystem

Subproject 5

Image

ControlSystem

 

CUBES Circle represents, from control engineering perspective, a highly complex production system whose individual elements must be coordinated to realize closed energy and material flows. In order to achieve this goal Subproject 5 introduces modeling methods as well as model-based robust, adaptive and optimal control methods to the project.

Modeling Methods: Mathematical formulation of dynamic models of the energy and mass flows of the CUBES-Circle will be used. These models will be parameterized and validated by means of parameter identification and machine learning/AI based on experimentally collected data from the production CUBES (SP2, SP3, SP4) and results from SP7.

Control Methods: Formulation of the quality criteria of the control techniques and the design of optimal control for energy and mass flow between the cubes will be based on the derived and analyzed models. It is important to synergistically compensate for the fluctuations that occur during operation (e.g. variations in cultivation, weather, variations in growth conditions) and to ensure stable and safe circulation. Based on the collected data from the production CUBES, the aim is to improve the models and control using Big Data analysis and learning methods. A combination of optimal, learning and adaptive control methods shall be considered to increase the efficiency as well as flexibility and adaptability of the CUBES Circle to new production sites and conditions.

Image

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil Stefan Streif studied engineering cybernetics and biochemical engineering at the University of Stuttgart and University of Sheffield (UK) until 2005. In 2011, he obtained a PhD in the area of systems biology at the University Magdeburg, the Max Planck Institute for Dynamics of Complex Technical Systems in Magdeburg and at the Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry in Martinsried/Munich. After that, he became a group leader at the University of Magdeburg and he spent several years abroad, e.g. at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. After his habilitation in systems theory and control engineering, he became an Assistant Professor at the Ilmenau University of Technology in 2014. Since 2015, he is a full professor in automatic control at the Technische Universität Chemnitz Since 2019 he fills the position dean of Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology.

The research focus of Stefan Streif’s group comprises the holistic, system theoretical treatment of (cyclic) processes, value chains and dynamic networks, the mathematical rigorous development of methods for optimal, robust and learning control as well as the analysis and verification of uncertain systems. To this end, different approaches from control theory, applied mathematics, optimization and computer science are synergistically combined, applied and further developed. The developed methods are applied in various interdisciplinary application-oriented projects ranging from agriculture, food production, and energy systems to systems biology. In addition to a solid method-oriented and theoretically well-founded research, applications and interdisciplinary projects in the areas of agricultural and energy systems, automation engineering and systems biology are of importance.

The research group currently comprises three postdocs, twelve PhD students and further technical and administrative personnel. Modern research equipment from the energy- and agricultural sectors can be found in the lab and are used to address different research questions. The IT infrastructure is used for computationally intensive research projects in the area of modeling, optimization and ‘Big Data’-analysis.

Contact: stefan.streif(at)etit.tu-chemnitz.de

Image

Dr.-Ing. Arne-Jens Hempel studied electrical engineering until 2005, majoring in systems theory at Chemnitz University of Technology and the Royal Institute of Technology Sweden. In 2011, he obtained a PhD in field of (fuzzy) classification methods with summa cum laude. After his graduation he provisionally hold the Chair of Systems Theory. Since 2015 he has been working as a research assistant at the Chair of Automatic Control and System Dynamics at the TU Chemnitz.

As part of his research, Arne-Jens Hempel dedicates himselve to methods that combine the research areas of automatic control and classification in the context of adaptive and hierarchical systems. For this purpose, methods from the areas of machine learning, big data analysis are combined with approaches of control engineering and systems theory.

Contact: arne-jens.hempel(at)etit.tu-chemnitz.de

Image

Alexander Kobelski is a scientific staff at the Chair of Automatic Control and System Dynamics. His research focuses on the development of control engineering models as well as control algorithms for the control of biological systems.

In CUBES Circle, he develops mathematical models of the individual CUBES and the ConnectivitySystem as well as control algorithms for the optimal exchange of mass and energy fluxes between the CUBES.

Contact: alexander.kobelski(at)etit.tu-chemnitz.de

TP 5 – ControlSystem

Teilprojekt 5

Image

ControlSystem

 

Aus Sicht der Regelungstechnik stellt der CUBES Circle ein hochkomplexes Produktionssystem dar, dessen einzelne Elemente zur Realisierung von geschlossenen Energie- und Stoffsströmen aufeinander abgestimmt werden müssen. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen bringt Teilprojekt 5 einerseits die Methoden der Modellierung und andererseits die Methoden der modellbasierten robusten, adaptiven und optimalen Regelung in das Projekt ein.

Methoden der Modellierung: Für die Modellierung sollen hierbei mathematische Formulierung dynamischer Modelle der Energie- und Stoffströme des CUBES-Circle zugrunde gelegt werden. Diese Modelle werden mittels Verfahren der Parameteridentifikation sowie des maschinellen Lernens/KI, auf Basis experimentell erhobener Daten aus den Produktions-CUBES (TP2, TP3, TP4) sowie Ergebnissen aus TP7, parametrisiert und validiert.

Methoden der Regelung: Auf Grundlage der hergeleiteten und analysierten Modelle erfolgen die Formulierung von regelungstechnischen Gütekriterien sowie der Entwurf einer optimalen Regelung für die Energie- und Stoffströme zwischen den CUBES. Hierbei gilt es die im Betrieb auftretenden Schwankungen (z.B. Variationen in der Kulturführung, dem Wetter, natürlichen Variationen der Wachstumsbedingungen) synergetisch zu kompensieren sowie eine stabile und sichere Kreislaufführung zu gewährleisten. Aufbauend auf den erfassten Datenmengen aus den Produktions-CUBES wird eine Verbesserung der Modelle und Regelung basierend auf Big Data Analysen und Lernverfahren angestrebt. Zu diesem Zweck sollen Kombinationen von optimaler, lernender und adaptiver Regelung mit dem Ziel der Steigerung von Effizienz sowie Flexibilität und Anpassungsfähigkeit des CUBES-Circle an neue Produktionsstandorte und –bedingungen betrachtet werden.

Image

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil Stefan Streif studierte bis 2005 Technische Kybernetik mit Vertiefungsfach Bioverfahrenstechnik an der Universität Stuttgart und der University of Sheffield in England. Im Jahr 2011 promovierte er im Bereich der Systembiologie an der Universität und dem Max Planck Institut für Dynamik komplexer technischer Systeme in Magdeburg sowie am Max Planck Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried. Es folgten eine Tätigkeit als Gruppenleiter an der Universität Magdeburg sowie mehrere längere Auslandsaufenthalten u.a. am Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Nach seiner Habilitation im Bereich der Regelungstheorie wechselte er 2014 als Juniorprofessor für Automatisierungs­technik an die Technische Universität Ilmenau. Seit Mitte 2015 ist er Inhaber der Professur für Regelungstechnik und Systemdynamik an der Technischen Universität Chemnitz, und seit 2019 Dekan der Fakultät für Elektro- und Informationstechnik.

Die ganzheitliche, systemtheoretische Betrachtung von (Kreislauf-)Prozessen, Wertschöpfungsketten und dynamischen Netzwerken sowie die mathematisch-rigorose Entwicklung von Methoden zur optimalen, robusten und lernenden Regelung und Analyse und Verifikation unsicher Systeme sind die Forschungsgebiete der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Streif. Hierfür werden verschiedene Ansätze aus der Regelungstheorie, angewandten Mathematik, Optimierung und Informatik kombiniert, appliziert und konsequent zu flexibel einsetzbaren Methoden weiterentwickelt. Die entwickelten Methoden kommen in verschiedenen interdisziplinären und anwendungsfokussierten Projekten aus den Bereichen Agrarwissenschaft, Lebensmittelproduktion, Energiesysteme und Systembiologie zum Einsatz

Die Arbeitsgruppe besteht derzeit aus drei Postdoktoranden, dreizehn Doktoranden sowie technischen und administrativem Personal. In den Laboren stehen moderne Versuchsapparaturen u.a. aus dem Bereich der Energie- und Agrarsysteme für diverse Forschungsfragen zur Verfügung. Die IT-Infrastruktur kommt bei rechenintensiven Forschungsprojekten aus den Bereichen der Modellierung, Optimierung und Big-Data Analyse zum Einsatz.

Kontakt: stefan.streif(at)etit.tu-chemnitz.de

Image

Dr.-Ing. Arne-Jens Hempel studierte bis 2005 Elektrotechnik mit der Vertiefung Systemtheorie an der Technischen Universität Chemnitz und am Royal Institute of Technology Schweden. Im Jahr 2011 wurde er im Bereich unscharfe Klassifikationsmethoden mit summa cum laude promovierte. Anschließend übernahm er kommissarisch die Leitung der Professur für Systemtheorie. Seit 2015 arbeitet er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Professur für Regelungstechnik und Systemdynamik der TU Chemnitz.

Im Rahmen seiner Forschung widmet sich Arne-Jens Hempel Methoden, welche die Forschungsbereiche Regelung und Klassifikation im Kontext von adaptiven und hierarchischen Systemen verbinden. Hierfür werden Ansätze aus den Bereichen des maschinellen Lernens, der Analyse großer Datenmengen (Big Data) mit Ansätzen der Regelungstechnik und Systemtheorie kombiniert.

Kontakt: arne-jens.hempel(at)etit.tu-chemnitz.de

Image

Alexander Kobelski ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Professur für Regelungstechnik und Systemdynamik. In seiner Forschung beschäftigt er sich mit der Entwicklung von regelungstechnischen Modellen sowie Regelungsalgorithmen zur gezielten Steuerung von biologischen Systemen.

In CUBES Circle entwickelt er physikalisch mathematische Modelle der einzelnen CUBES und des ConnectivitySystem sowie Regelungsalgorithmen zum optimalen Austausch von Stoff- und Energieströmen zwischen den CUBES.

Kontakt: alexander.kobelski(at)etit.tu-chemnitz.de