SP 7 - Nutrient fluxes

Subproject 7

Image

Nutrient Fluxes

To what extent do nutrients that are not removed with harvest products circulate through the interconnected production units for plants, insects and fishes?
Which measures can be used to increase the nutrient flow (cycle closure), and thus the nutrient use efficiency?
Is it possible to control the circulation of the nutrients by regulating controllable production factors, such as temperature or light, in order to positively influence the yield and quality of the food?

The scientists from subproject 7 ― which is truly interdisciplinary comprising work with fish, insects and plants including their growth media ― aim to shine a light into these questions. In order to trace the nutrients labeled stable isotopes are used.

 

Image

Prof. Dr. Christoph-Martin Geilfus has a focus on plant nutrition of agricultural and horticultural crops. Besides, he studies apoplastic stress signalling in the context of guard cell regulation. For this, he uses methods ranging from live cell imaging over proteomics/ionomics to GWAS.
As member of the CUBES project, Mr. Geilfus aims to study nutrient fluxes and nutrient use efficiencies in the combined productions units for fish, plants and insects.

Contact: christophmartin.geilfus(at)hs-gm.de

Image

Prof. Dr. Tsu-Wei Chen a plant physiologist and modeller, is the head of the Division Intensive Plant Food Systems at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. He is specialized in the so-called functional-structural plant model.

For the CUBES Circle project, Prof. Dr. Chen aims to model nutrient fluxes and nutrient use efficiencies in the combined productions units for fish, plants and insects.

Contact: tsu-wei.chen(at)hu-berlin.de

Image

Dr. Carsten Richter is Sales Manager of Conviron Germany GmbH.

Contact: crichter(at)conviron.com

Image

Dr. Andries Temme is a postdoctoral researcher in the group of Prof. Chen. His research focusses on, combining ecophysiology, genomics, and phenomics, in order to develop vital insights for hardening crops response to environmental stress. He has broad experience in plant responses to abiotic stresses including CO2, light, nutrient, salt and water stresses.
For the CUBES Circle project, Andries will focus on understanding nutrient flows in and around the plant production unit and will focus on how variation in plant traits, specifically roots, affects nutrient uptake and retention in the plants.

Contact: andries.temme(at)hu-berlin.de

Image

Jeffrey J. Jones is a PhD student at the Department for Controlled Environment Horticulture at the ADTI of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. In his Bachelor studies Jeffrey investigated plant-insect interactions between tomato plants and predatory mirids. Within his Master studies he focused on the stomatal reaction to diverse light qualities using live cell imaging.
Within CUBES Circle he focuses on the analysis of the nutrient fluxes in the circular production system plant-fish-insect via isotope labelling. The aim is to optimize the nutrient fluxes for an increased nutrient efficiency of the system.

Contact: jonesjej(at)hu-berlin.de

TP 7 – Nährstoffflüsse

Teilprojekt 7

Image

Nährstoffflüsse

In welchem Umfang zirkulieren Nährstoffe, die nicht durch ein Ernteprodukt entnommen werden, durch die miteinander verbundenen Produktionseinheiten für Pflanzen, Insekten und Fische?
Durch welche Maßnahmen kann man den Nährstofffluss (Kreislaufschluss), und somit die Nährstoffnutzungseffizienz, erhöhen?
Kann die Zirkulation der Nährstoffe durch die Regelung kontrollierbarer Produktionsfaktoren wie Temperatur oder Licht so gesteuert werden, dass Erträge und Qualitäten der Nahrungsmittel positiv beeinflusst werden?

Mit der Beantwortung dieser Fragen beschäftigen sich die Wissenschaftler in diesem interdisziplinären Teilprojekt, welches die Arbeit an Fischen, Insekten und Pflanzen und deren Wachstumsmedien beinhaltet. Um den Nährstofffluss nachvollziehen zu können, wird u. a. mit markierten stabilen Isotopen gearbeitet.

 

Image

Prof. Dr. Christoph-Martin Geilfus beschäftigt sich als Pflanzenernährer mit der Kultivierung von agrarischen und gartenbaulichen Nutzpflanzen. Außerdem untersucht er den Zusammenhang zwischen apoplastischen Stresssignalen und der Regulierung der stomatären Apertur. Hierzu setzt er Methoden aus den Bereichen Mikroskopie, Proteomics, Ionomics oder GWAS ein.
Im Rahmen des CUBES-Projektes hat Herr Geilfus sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die Nährstoffflüsse und die Nährstoffnutzungseffizienzen in den kombinierten Produktionseinheiten für Fische, Pflanzen und Insekten zu untersuchen bzw. zu optimieren.

Kontakt: christophmartin.geilfus(at)hs-gm.de

Image

Prof. Dr. Tsu-Wei Chen leitet als Pflanzenphysiologe und Modellierer das Fachgebiet Intensiv Plant Food Systems an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Er ist Spezialist der sogenannten funktionalen-strukturellen Pflanzenmodellierung (FSPM).

Für CUBES Circle wird Prof. Dr. Chen die Nährstoffflüsse und die Nährstoffnutzungseffizienzen in den kombinierten Produktionseinheiten für Fische, Pflanzen und Insekten modellieren.

Kontakt: tsu-wei.chen(at)hu-berlin.de

Image

Dr. Carsten Richter ist Sales Manager bei Conviron Germany GmbH.

Kontakt: crichter(at)conviron.com

Image

Dr. Andries Temme ist Postdoktorand in der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Chen. Seine Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Kombination von Ökophysiologie, Genomik und Phänomik, um wichtige Erkenntnisse für die Abwehr von Pflanzenreaktionen auf Umweltstress zu gewinnen. Er verfügt über umfassende Erfahrung in der Reaktion von Pflanzen auf abiotischen Stress, einschließlich CO2-, Licht-, Nährstoff-, Salz- und Wasserstress.
Für das CUBES Circle wird Andries sich auf das Verständnis der Nährstoffflüsse in und um die Pflanzenproduktionseinheit fokussieren und sich darauf konzentrieren wie Variationen in Pflanzenmerkmalen, insbesondere Wurzeln, die Nährstoffaufnahme und -retention in den Pflanzen beeinflussen.

Kontakt: andries.temme(at)hu-berlin.de

Image

Jeffrey J. Jones ist Doktorand am Fachgebiet Controlled Environment Horticulture am ADTI der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Im Bachelor untersuchte er die Pflanzen-Insekten-Interaktion zwischen Tomatenpflanzen und Raubwanzen. Zudem hat er im Rahmen seines Masterstudiums die stomatäre Reaktion auf diverse Lichtqualitäten mittels Mikroskopie untersucht.
Im CUBES Circle Projekt liegt Jeffreys Fokus auf der Analyse der Nährstoffflüsse im Produktionskreislauf Pflanze-Fisch-Insekt mittels Isotopenmarkierung. Ziel ist die Optimierung der Nährstoffflüsse, um die Nährstoffeffizienz des Systems zu verbessern.

Kontakt: jonesjej(at)hu-berlin.de